yes

25Jul08

“We were discussing happiness, I believe. I was telling you about myself. Incidentally, I just used the word ‘happiness’. Tell me, why is it that even when we are enjoying music, for instance, or a beautiful evening, or a conversation in agreeable company, it all seems no more than a hint of some infinite felicity existing apart somewhere, rather than actual happiness – such, I mean, as we ourselves can really possess?'”

Fathers and Sons, by Ivan Turgenev

(from James Meek’s top 10 books of Russia)

No Responses Yet to “yes”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

