Don’t kill us! We work for Disney

06Jun08

This is seriously the cutest article ever written. It starts by focusing on an artist who lives on a farm infested with woodchucks, also known as groundhogs (see above), who were ruining his garden, so he decides he has to do something to make them go away. After trying a few non-violent methods, he decides …

Finally, the artist decided he would have to shoot the animals. First, though, he went to each hole and made an announcement.

“I said: ‘I intend to kill you. You have 24 hours to get out,’ ” he recalls. “I wanted to give them fair warning. I said, ‘If I were you, I would find another place to live.’ I also promised them I would not take a shot unless I knew it would be fatal.”

Eventually, though, he embraced his mission, and grew so obsessed with it that an aunt began to call him Woodchuck Johnny. How many did he kill that summer?

“I stopped at 19,” he says. “One was a suicide. It realized its days were numbered and ran in front of a car.”

original article

I heart NYT. As usual.

No Responses Yet to “Don’t kill us! We work for Disney”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

